University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point University Library
University Library, UW-Stevens Point
Library Home | About Us | Hours | Directory | Library News | Visitors & Maps | Site Index | Help


Marketing Research – BUS 321

The purpose of this guide is to help you locate current sources for researching a particular market.  Market share, business plans, sales growth and demographics are all important pieces of information necessary for building a powerful marketing plan.  This guide is not intended to be a comprehensive listing of sources related to market research, but it will give you a good start.

LIBRARY HOMEPAGE    http://library.uwsp.edu

PATH TO DATABASES:

Go to library homepage http://library.uwsp.edu/

Click on Article Databases by Subject” under  “Research Point” tab

Go to the “Business/Economics” link

 MARKET, INDUSTRY & COMPANY RESEARCH

  •   Library Catalog Subject Headings or Keywords:  Marketing    “Marketing Research”  “Market Segmentation”  “Target Marketing”  “Consumer Behavior”   Entrepreneurship  Industries  Industry (limit to Reference Room)

  • Reference Books

Demographics USA      Ref HA203 .D465

Contains demographic information – consumer expenditures, employment by occupations, retail sales by state, etc.

 

Market Share Reporter      Ref HF5410 .M35

Annual compilation of market share data on U.S. companies, products and services, arranged by SIC code and with

indexes by product, company and topic.

 

Editor & Publisher Market Guide     Ref HF5429.3 .E43

This annual includes demographic data and projections and market rankings by state.

 

Standard & Poor’s Industry Surveys   Ref HG 4057 .A388

Excellent guides to specific industry trends, key ratios and statistics, and how to analyze a company.

 

Business and Industry (11 vol.)   Ref HF1001 .B796 2004

This 11-vol set includes theme-based articles on business and industry related topics. Volume 11 includes an

index to each volume in the set.  

 

SIC Industry Classification Manual Ref HF1042 .S73 1987 & NAICS  HF1042 .N67 2002

Classification scheme for industries (finding aid). Good tool to use for market, industry and competitor information and

research.      

  •   Databases (articles, newspapers, business trade journals, industry & company information)

ABI/Inform Global (Proquest). Index to 1000 worldwide business periodicals for information on advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more. Also, information on 60,000+ companies [UWSP access only]

Business Source Elite (Ebsco). Provides full text for nearly 1,060 journals covering business, management, economics, finance, banking, accounting, and much more. [UWSP access only]

Corporate ResourceNet (Ebsco). Provides over 4,000 searchable sources covering a broad spectrum of U.S. and international business topics and industries; scientific and medical information; regulation and policy information; and company and product information. Includes DataMonitor Reports (SWOT Analysis). [UWSP access only]

Hoover’s. Hoover’s offers information on over 44,000 companies, industries, people, and products. Good for competitor information.  [UWSP access only]

Academic Universe (Lexis Nexis). Provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and industry information. [UWSP access only]

  • Web Sites

Marketing Research Association

http://www.mra-net.org

While much of the information on this site is for members of the MRA, there are useful links here,

such as the Glossary of Terms and links to related resources you may find useful.

 

Market Research/Consumer Behavior (U Penn Library)

http://gethelp.library.upenn.edu/guides/business/consumerbehav.html

Includes links to useful industry web sites and government data

 

Industries Web Sites (U Penn Library)

http://gethelp.library.upenn.edu/guides/business/industriesweb.html

 

 

BUSINESS PLANS

·         Library Catalog Subject Headings or Keywords:

“Business Planning”   “Business Plan?”   Entrepreneurship

 

·         Reference Books

Business Plans Handbook    Ref HD62.7 .B865

This 10-vol set contains model business and marketing plans for a variety of businesses.

 

Small Business Sourcebook: The Entrepreneur’s Resource    Ref HD2346.U5 S66

A two-volume annotated guide to sources of information designed to facilitate the start-up,

development and growth of small businesses.

 

·         Web Sites

Business Plans  http://www.bplans.com/sp/businessplans.cfm

Includes samples of selected business plans.

 

Business Plan Resources (U of Wash Library)

http://www.lib.washington.edu/business/guides/bplans.html

 

Entrepreneurship & Small Business Sites (U Penn Library)

http://gethelp.library.upenn.edu/guides/business/entreprenweb.html

 

Small Business Administration  http://www.sba.gov/starting_business/marketing/basics.html

Provides some basic information on marketing.

 

 

 

 

 

 

LOCAL SOURCES

·         Library Catalog Subject Headings or Keywords:

Wisconsin   (or specific city or county as keyword)

·         Reference Books

Wisconsin Business Directory       Ref HG4058 .W52

Listing of businesses by city and category.

 

Stevens Point City Directory – Reference Desk

 

·         Wisconsin Newspapers

Click on Article Databases by Subject” under “Research Point” tab

Go to the “Wisconsin/Local” link

 

·         Web Sites

Wisc. Dept. of Commerce   http://www.commerce.state.wi.us/BD

Provides business statistics and data for WI, including the state’s business climate, county

personal income, economic indicator’s index, etc.

 

Wisconsin’s WORKnet  http://worknet.wisconsin.gov/worknet/

Excellent source for Wisconsin’s workforce and labor market information. Check out the data

tables and Portage County Summary.

 

 

Reference Sources

 

 

 

Entrepreneurship Resource Guide

The purpose of this guide is to help you locate up-to-date sources for researching a particular market.  Information such as market share, business plans, sales growth and demographics are all important pieces of information necessary for building a powerful marketing plan. This guide is NOT intended to be a comprehensive listing of sources related to marketing.

Please feel free to ask the reference librarian for research help or to just get you started.

Reference Sources

Business Plans Handbook   Ref HD62.7 .B865 2004
This 10-vol set contains model business and marketing plans for a variety of businesses.

Demographics USA   Ref HA203 .D465 2003
Contains demographic information – consumer expenditures, employment by occupations, retail sales by state, etc.

Market Share Reporter   Ref HF5410 .M35 2005
Annual compilation of market share data on U.S. companies, products and services, arranged by SIC code and with indexes by product, company and topic.

Editor & Publisher Market Guide   Ref HF5429.3 .E43 2004
This annual includes demographic data and projections and market rankings by state.

Ward's Business Directory: U.S. private and public companies   Ref HG4057 .W38

Wisconsin Business Directory Ref HG4058 .W52 2004
Listing of businesses by city and category.


Books
 

To identify relevant books, use the Library Catalog. Try searching by keyword:

 

Example:

  • "marketing" or "marketing plan"
     

You can also search by subject heading:

Examples:
  • Market segmentation--United States
  • Target marketing--United States
  • Consumer behavior--United States

Articles
 

To search for articles, you will want to use an index. To access the business indexes, use the following path:
  1. Go to the Library Homepage

  2. Click on "Article Databases by Subject"

  3. Select the Business & Economics category. 

  4. This will lead you to important business indexes, such as:

  • ABI/Inform Global
    Provides abstracts and full-text articles from over 1,000 scholarly and professional journals covering industries, companies, marketing, finance, and other business topics.
  • Lexis/Nexis
    Provides full-text articles from major business journals covering company and industry information and market news. Click on the “business” link on the left side within Lexis/Nexis and you will see a menu of options to search from, such as “business & industry” news or company information.
  • Hoover’s
    Provides indepth information on companies, competitors, industry, financials, people, products and news.

Newspapers

Searching newspapers will provide you with the most up-to-date company information and is one of the best resources for local and private company information.

To find newspaper articles:
  • Click on the Article QuickSearch link from the Library Homepage
  • Select the "Newspaper" category and conduct your search. You can choose the advanced search option for more precise searching.

Web Resources
 

Unlike library databases, these Web resources are available wherever you have web access. When using web resources, be sure to evaluate the credibility of these resources.
 

Marketing Research Association

http://www.mra-net.org/
While much of the information on this site is for members of the MRA, there are useful links here, such as the Glossary of Terms and links to related resources you may find useful.
 

Small Business Association – Women’s Business Center

http://www.onlinewbc.gov/docs/market  
Good general advice and links, such as “
Need to know how to develop a marketing plan?”  “Want some inexpensive promotional ideas or are you interested in marketing and selling on the Internet?”
 

Wisconsin Department of Commerce

http://www.commerce.state.wi.us/BD/BD-COM-3999.html
Provides business statistics and data for WI, including the state’s business climate, county personal income, economic indicator’s index, etc.
 

Wisconsin’s WORKnet

http://worknet.wisconsin.gov/worknet/
Excellent source for Wisconsin’s workforce and labor market information. Check out the data tables and  a Portage County Summary.
 

If you need help with this assignment, remember to stop by and AskUs! at the Reference Desk.

 

© 2004 University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point University Library
900 Reserve Street | Stevens Point, WI 54481
715·346·3038 (administration) | 715·346·2540 (circulation) | 715·346·2836 (reference)

This page last modified: Sunday, January 06, 2008