Tips and tools for students majoring in Communication
The University Library offers a number of resources under the three major areas of communication: Interpersonal/Organizational; Public Relations; Media & Technology Studies.
To access Library materials, we encourage you to visit the Library and to become familiar with the Library Homepage
I. Finding books…
Search the Library Catalog for books, videos, CDs, archival materials, print periodicals, and government documents. REMEMBER! You won’t find individual articles in the catalog. You must search the databases and indexes for articles.
The table below includes a sample of keywords and subjects to use when searching the catalog:
Interpersonal/Organizational
Public Relations
Media & Technology Studies
Interpersonal communication
Public relations
Mass media
Family communication
Crisis (or conflict) management
Broadcast journalism
Organizational communication
Ethics in organizations
Film history
Small group communication
Marketing or advertising
Freedom of the press
Conflict management
Group problem solving
Gender & communication
II. Finding articles…
From the Library homepage
Click on "Find article databases" to search for a specific resource
Or go to "Browse databases A-Z" for an alphabetical list of resources
Article QuickSearch will take you to a list of the most popular databases
The following table includes a sample of communication-related databases:
DATABASE
DATABASE VENDOR (PUBLISHER)
DESCRIPTION
ABI Inform
Proquest
business related articles
Academic Search Elite
EBSCO
scholarly articles
Academic Universe
Lexis/Nexis
business, legal and newspaper articles
Communication Abstracts
CSA
communication- related abstracts of articles, books & reports.
Newspapers
Proquest
WI and national newspapers
Omnifile
WilsonWeb
popular, scholarly and newspaper articles.
“The Pointer” index
UWSP Library
index includes articles from 1895 to the present.
PsychInfo
EBSCO
popular and scholarly articles related to psych/behavior/interpersonal.
“Stevens Point Journal” index
UWSP Library
articles indexed include state and local news from 1992 to the present.
III. Reference Room (1st floor)
Use the Reference Room for quick look-ups and overviews. We have a number of reference titles related to communication, such as:
Advertising media A to Z : the definitive resource for media planning, buying, and research HF5826.5 .S848
Encyclopedia of relationships across the lifespan HM132 .T83
Career opportunities in radio HE8689.4 .F54
IV. Periodicals (2nd floor)
Browse the periodicals (i.e., journals, newspapers, magazines) for the print copies of particular titles, such as:
Broadcasting & Cable
Communication Quarterly
Critical Studies in Media Communication
Human Communication Research
Journal of Marriage and Family
Public Relations Quarterly
V. Government Documents (6th floor)
Use the Gov Docs collection for information on topics, such as:
Telecommunications policies (FCC)
International relations
Country information and crisis communication
VI. University Archives (5th floor)
Use the Archives for information on the history of this campus, student organizations, yearbooks, files and photos of campus buildings, and early copies of publications, such as The Pointer.
VII. Other useful services …
Universal Borrowing – borrow books and videos from other UW System Libraries if we do not own something you’re looking for
Inter-Library Loan - obtain articles or books that are not available through the UWSP Library or UW Library System
Renew library materials online.
Virtual Reference Desk – The VRD includes web sites that have been carefully chosen to help you find the very best resources. This site includes a Communication topic with a number of excellent resources.
Off campus access - Access databases and indexes from off-campus by setting up a Virtual Private Network. If you need further assistance, contact the Help Desk at 346-4347.
Still need help with your research? Ask us! at the reference desk.