MEDIA LAW FOR PRODUCERS: COMM 359
Subject Headings
|
Reference
Books |
Periodicals |
Databases |
Government Publications |Web Resources |
Research Tips
The Library’s Reference Room and general book collections are organized
using the Library of Congress system of subject headings. Some online
databases use the same subject headings we use in the library. Use of
these subject headings can make you a more effective researcher.
Listed below are some of the subject headings applicable to media and
the law:
- Broadcasting
- Broadcast journalism
- Radio broadcast
- Television broadcasting
- Cable Television
- Mass Media-Law and Legislation
- Radio-Law and Legislation United States
- Television-law and legislation
- United States. Federal Communications Commission
Refer to these background information sources found in the Library's Reference
Room when you are just starting to research a topic:
- Historic U.S. court cases: An encyclopedia Ref KF385.A4 J64 2001
- Illustrated great decisions of the Supreme Court Ref KF4549 .M334 2000
- Oxford guide to United States Supreme Court decisions Ref KF4549 .O97 1999
- Encyclopedia of international media and communications Ref P87.5 .E532 2003
- Television industry: A historical dictionary Ref PN1992.3.U5 S57 1991
- Encyclopedia of television, cable, and video Ref PN1992.18 .R44 1992
Books
You can search the
Library Catalog for books by keyword or using subject headings:
Keyword Search Example: "fairness doctrine"
Subject Heading Examples:
- Fairness doctrine(Broadcasting)--United States.
- Broadcasting--Law and legislation--United States.
Periodicals
This is a list of some of the important journals in the field of media
law that the University Library subscribes to.
- American Journalism Review
- Broadcasting and cable
- Communication law and policy
- Federal communications law journal
- Journal of broadcasting
- Journal of broadcasting & electronic media
- Media and the law
- Media history
- Media industry newsletter
- Mediaweek
ACCESS NOTE
Off-campus access to most online indexes and databases is available to
UWSP students and staff through Virtual Private Network (VPN). Click
here for instructions.
Below is a list of some of the databases the Library subscribes to that are
useful for media law research. To access these databases, use the
Find Resources function in ReSearchPoint:
- ABI Inform
- Business periodical database including advertising, marketing, economics,
finance, taxation, etc.
- Lexis/Nexis
- Legal research, business and industry information, newspapers.
- EbscoHost Academic Search Elite
- Scholarly journals in a number of
disciplines
- EbscoHost MasterFile Premiere
- Business and popular magazines
- Communication Abstracts
- Communication related publications on a world-wide scale. Coverage
includes not only communication literature but also literature in other
disciplines that is relevant to communication researchers.
- Congressional Universe
- Bills, testimonies, hot topics, laws, and regulations.
- WilsonWeb
- Use Reader's Guide for general interest periodicals and OmniFile for
multi-disciplinary journals.
- Newspapers
- Proquest National Newspapers database, Wisconsin Newspapers and Academic Universe
As an officially designated
federal depository library, the department receives over 800 publications
weekly. The collection includes the official documents of the U.S. Government
from 1789 to the present. This area is a library in itself, with a
unique method of acquiring, cataloging, shelving, and circulating materials.
Patrons are asked to seek assistance from the staff at the Documents Reference
desk.
- Library Catalog
The library's
catalog provides access to many of the U.S. and Wisconsin Government
Publications from 1976 to the present. Please note that government publications
older than 1976 are not included in the online catalog and that some more
recent materials have not yet been added. To locate the call numbers for these
materials, patrons will need to use the Government Document department's specialized electronic
indexes or paper indexes.
Congressional Universe- This index provides comprehensive access to the rich resource of congressional publications
from 1970 to the present. Each year Congress generates over half a million pages
of information on a phenomenal range of subjects covering its investigative,
oversight, and legislative activities. Abstracts provide detailed summaries of
each publication and the SUDOC call number.
- Statistical
Universe
- This index
provides access to authoritative statistical data on population, business and
finance, trade, agriculture, health, transportation, government programs, social
and economic issues. Since the U.S. Government is the world's most prolific
source of statistical data, the department has only the source publications
which are indicated by a SUDOC call number.
Example of a Government Document Title:
Telecommunications: Data gathering weaknesses in FCC's survey of information
on factors underlying cable rate changes.
SuDocs Number: GA 1.5/2:GAO-03-742 T
Check the sites below for information from
government, education and non-profit organizations.
- American Communication Association
- Contains links to information of interest
to all in the field of communications, such as freedom of speech and information
issues, telecommunications issues, and guides to information in many
communications subfields.
- Federal
Communications Commission
- The Federal Communications Commission (FCC) regulates interstate and international
communications by radio, television, wire, satellite and cable.
-
FindLaw Communications Law Resource Guide
- Lists communications law documents, briefs, books, government
agencies/documents, web sites, related topic areas, and more. Sponsored by
Westlaw.
- First Amendment Center
- Features comprehensive research coverage of key First Amendment issues and
topics, a unique First Amendment Library and guest analyses by respected legal
specialists.
- International Journal of Communications Law and Policy
- A free electronic journal devoted to the changing law, policy and technology of
media regulation around the world. As a result of technological convergence the
journal includes content covering traditional broadcasting and cable as well as
internet and telecommunications.
- Legal Information
Institute at Cornell - Media Law Page
- One of the premier sites on the web for legal research. Pulls together a broad
array of primary law sources and other Internet law sites around specific
topics. The pages also aim to provide some context for research in those primary
materials by indicating the relative importance of Federal and state law,
statutes, regulations and other sources on the particular topic.
- Clearly identify your information need
- Identify key words and search terms to match your topic
- Develop search statements and strategies
- Revise your search terms and strategy to expand or narrow your results.
- Use the Library Catalog to find books and government documents
- Use
ReSearchPoint to find journal articles
- Keep a research log to track what you
have looked at and found useful (or not useful)
- If articles are not full text, check the
Find It! Button to
see if the article is full-text in another database or in print.
- Use Interlibrary Loan to
get articles (and occasionally books) not available through the UWSP
Library.
- Use Universal Borrowing to borrow
books from any UW Library.
- Carefully evaluate the information you have found for usefulness and quality.
- Use the appropriate style guide to
document and cite your research.
- Ask for HELP at the Reference
Desk in person, by phone or email.
Sources: UWSP
Library, Stewart Library, Pierce Library, Univ of Washington Library