University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point University Library
University Library, UW-Stevens Point
Library Home | About Us | Hours | Directory | Library News | Visitors & Maps | Site Index | Help

Find Book Reviews

A book review is an essay or an article giving a descriptive evaluation of a recently published book. Book reviews may appear in newspapers, popular magazines, or scholarly journals. Depending on the publication in which it appears, some book reviews offer more critical evaluation than others. Keep in mind that, while thousands of books are published each year, a relatively small percentage of books are reviewed.

Follow the the steps below to find book reviews:

Step One: Gather the Necessary Information
Step Two: Select a Resource to Conduct Your Search
Step Three: Locating the Publication with Your Book Review


Step One: Gather the Necessary Information
When looking for a book review, you need to know the following: 

  • The full name of the author

  • The exact title of the book

  • The year the book was published

If you have a copy of the book for which you need a book review, look for the date of publication or copyright date on the front or back of the book’s title page. If more than one date is noted, use the earliest date.

To find the information you need if you do not have the book available to you: 

  • conduct a search in the library catalog using the book title;

  • conduct a more extensive search for the book in WorldCat, a worldwide online catalog with more than 32 million entries (find a link to WorldCat on the Journal, Magazine and Newspaper Indexes page); or

  • use the print resource Books in Print, which can be found in the Ready Reference Collection in the library’s Reference Room. Books in Print organizes information about books currently published or distributed in the U.S. by author, title, and subject.


return to top


Step Two: Select a Resource to Conduct Your Search
Now that you have the information you need, you are ready to conduct your search. You can conduct your search for book reviews in:


SEARCH TIPMake sure to record the complete citation for the book review you are trying to locate.


Book Reviews in Print Indexes
Find these print indexes in the Reference Room on the library’s first floor. Use the volume for the year in which the book was first published or the years immediately before and after the initial publication date.

Book Review Digest
Reference Room Z1035.A1 B6
1905-present. Lists and provides excerpts of book reviews in the humanities, social sciences, and general periodicals from the U.S., Canada, and Great Britain. Entries are under author's last name. A short description of the book, a full citation to locate the full text, and excerpts from 3-4 book reviews appear under each entry.

Book Review Index
Reference Room Z1035.A1 B5
1965-present. Provides citations to reviews of books, periodicals, and books-on-tape from over 600 general interest and scholarly publications. Arranged alphabetically by author’s last name; there is no subject approach. No summaries or excerpts of the reviews are included.

The New York Times Index
Reference Room AI21 .N44
1851-2001. Includes citations to all reviews in The New York Times Book Review section; listed in the index alphabetically by title under the Book Reviews subject heading. Search Tip: An online index and access to full text articles for The New York Times are also available in ProQuest Newspapers (1995-present) and
Academic Universe (1980-present).

Readers’ Guide to Periodical Literature (see Readers' Guide Full Text for coverage from 1983-present)
Reference Room AI3 .R48
1900-2003. Lists book reviews alphabetically by author. Starting in 1976, book reviews are listed separately at the back of each volume.


return to top


 

Book Reviews in Print Periodicals
Browse through these print periodicals found on the second floor of the library to find reviews of recently published books:

 

Periodical Title

Target Audience

Book Links

Young adults

Choice

Materials for academic libraries

Curriculum Review

K-12 teachers and administrators

History: Review of New Books

Historians

Horn Book

Children and young adults

New Books on Women and Feminism

Women’s studies

New York Review of Books

Popular fiction and nonfiction

New York Times Book Review

Popular fiction and nonfiction

Publishers Weekly

Emphasis on American publishing

Women’s Review of Books

Books by and about women

 

return to top


Book Reviews in Online Indexes/Databases
The databases listed below are good places to start when looking for book reviews in online resources. To access the following databases, simply click on the hyperlink, or go to the "Find Article Databases" link from the Library Homepage to search for the name of the databases listed below.


ACCESS NOTE: Off-campus access to most online indexes and databases is available to UWSP students and staff through Virtual Private Network (VPN). Click here for instructions. 



ABI/INFORM Global
Contains business periodicals covering business and economic conditions, management techniques, theory, and practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more. Search Tip: Click on More Search Options to expose additional selections; select Book Review from the Article Type drop-down menu.

 

Academic Search Elite
Multi-disciplinary database offers full text to many of it 2,000+ scholarly/general journals/magazines; 1,500 of these are peer-reviewed. Full-text coverage dates back as far as 1985. Search Tip: Use the Advanced Search screen; select Book Review as Document Type.

Academic Universe
The News search form can be used to locate reviews. Search Tip: Use the Guided News Search. Select Arts & Sports News as the News Category, select Book, movie, music, & play reviews as the News Source, and enter the title of the book in the search box. Change the date range, as appropriate.

America: History and Life
Find citations for reviews of books in the field of American history. Search Tip: Use the Advanced Search screen; select Book Review as Document Type.

Ethnic News Watch
Covers the ethnic, minority and Native American press. Search Tip: Use the Advanced Search screen. Click on More Search Options to expose additional selections; select Book Review from the Article Type drop-down menu.

Humanities Full Text
Full text plus abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines.
Search Tip: Limit search to book reviews by selecting Book review as the Document Type.

JSTOR
Provides electronic access to back issues of core journals in the sciences, humanities, and social sciences. Useful for finding book reviews of older publications. Search Tip: Scroll down the search screen to Limit by Type and select reviews.

MathSciNet

Reviews in mathematics, statistics, engineering, and the physical sciences. Search Tip: Select Current Awareness: Books from the left navigation bar. Select date range, click on Book Reviews Entered, and select a classification to search.

 

Project MUSE

Full-text access to the scholarly journals of several university presses. Search Tip: Use the Advanced Search screen; select Author Reviewed or Title Reviewed in the drop-down menu that appears next to the Search For box. You can also select Review in the By Type box.

 

Readers' Guide Full Text

Covers 1983 to present. Provides access to the contents of a wide variety of popular English-language magazines and journals. Search Tip: Limit search to book reviews by selecting Book review as the Document Type.

 

Religion Database (ATLA)
Provides information on topics such as biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religion in social issues. Search Tip: Use the Basic or Advanced Search screen; select Review as Publication Type.  

Science Citation Index
Index to the key scholarly journals in the sciences. Coverage goes back as far as 1945 is some cases. Search Tip: Use the General Search; set document types to Book Review.

Social Sciences Full Text
Bibliographic database to articles from more than 415 English-language periodicals published in the United States and elsewhere plus the full text of over 115 of those periodicals. Search Tip: Limit search to book reviews by selecting Book review as the Document Type.
 


return to top


 

Step Three: Locating the Publication with Your Book Review

If the resource you have used does not offer the full text of the book review, use the citation you found in Step Two to determine if the UWSP library holds a copy of the publication in which your book review appears.  

  1. Go to the "Journal titles A-Z List" from the Library Homepage and enter the name of the journal in the Find box to determine if the library holds the publication in print or electronically.

  1. Your search result may include links to online databases or information about the journal in Current Periodicals, Microfilm Periodicals, Bound Periodicals, or Compact Storage.

  2. If your search result indicates that the journal is not found in our collection, you can request the book review using the library’s online interlibrary loan (ILL) system.

  1. If the publication is available online:

  1. Look at the resources that appear in the Journals result list. Select a resource that includes a date range appropriate for your citation. 

  2. The online resource you select launches in a separate window. Often you will be presented with a list of available issues. Check your citation, scan the list of issues, and click the link for the correct issue.

  3. Scan the issue’s contents for your book review. Some databases organize issue contents in page number order, while others present the issue’s contents in alphabetical order by article title.

  1. If the publication is available in print or microfilm:

  1. Use the date of the issue in which the book review appears to determine if you will find the issue in Current Periodicals, Microfilm Periodicals, Bound Periodicals, or Compact Storage.

  2. Go to the periodicals department on the second floor of the library to locate the issue. Photocopiers are available in the periodicals department or you may check out the issue:

  • Undergraduates: All categories of print periodicals have a 24-hour checkout period with no renewals; microfilm cannot be checked out.

  • Graduate students: Current periodicals have a 24-hour checkout period; bound and compact periodicals can be checked out for three days (no renewals); microfilm cannot be checked out.


return to top


 

© 2004 University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point University Library
900 Reserve Street | Stevens Point, WI 54481
715·346·3038 (administration) | 715·346·2540 (circulation) | 715·346·2836 (reference)

This page last modified: Sunday, January 06, 2008