University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point University Library
University Library, UW-Stevens Point
Library Home | About Us | Hours | Directory | Library News | Visitors & Maps | Site Index | Help


Sustainability and Green Design
 

Subject Headings     Reference and Background Information 

Books   |   Online Indexes and Databases 

Print Periodicals   |   Online Periodicals   |   Web Resources

Subject Headings
The library’s Reference Room and general book collections are organized using the Library of Congress system of subject headings. Some online databases use the same subject headings we use in the library. Use of these subject headings can make you a more effective researcher.

Listed below are some of the subject headings applicable to sustainability and green design. Click on the links to go to the library catalog and conduct a search within these subject headings.

Architecture--Environmental aspects
Architecture--Health aspects
Building--Environmental aspects
Building materials--Environmental aspects
Buildings--Environmental engineering

Environmental health

Environmental policy
Green movement
Social ecology
Sustainable architecture
Sustainable development

 


return to top


Reference and Background Information
Refer to these background information sources found in the library's Reference Room when you are just starting to research a topic. Click on the title to see the catalog record for the item.

A Dictionary of Ecology, Evolution, and Systematics

Reference Room QH540.4 .L56 1998

Encyclopedia of Global Change: Environmental Change and Human Society

Reference Room GE149 .E47 2002

 

The Environment Dictionary

Reference Room GE10 .K45 1998

 

The Environmental Dictionary and Regulatory Cross Reference

Reference Room KF3775.A68 K57 1995

 

Environmental Encyclopedia

Reference Room GE10 .E38 2003


Interior Concerns Resource Guide: A Guide to Sustainable and Healthy Products and Educational Information for Designing and Building

Reference Room NA2542.35 .S36 1993

 

A Visual Dictionary of Architecture

Reference Room NA31 .C44 1995


return to top


 

Books

Books about sustainability and green design will be found in many sections of the library. In addition to finding books under the subjects of architecture (NA) and building construction (TH), you will also find relevant books under the subjects of human ecology (GF), social reform (HN), and environmental sciences (GE). Use the subject headings listed above to guide your search.

 

Listed below is a selection of books about sustainability and green design. Click on the title to see the catalog record for the item. Unless otherwise noted, these books are available in the stacks (A-G 3rd floor, H-PS 4th, PT-Z 5th).

 

Architecture, Planning, and the Environment

Architecture and the Urban Environment: A Vision for the New Age
NA2542.36 .T48 2002

A Building Revolution: How Ecology and Health Concerns are Transforming Construction

TH6021 .R66 1995

 

Ethics and the Built Environment

NA2542.35 .E88 2000

 

Green Shift: Changing Attitudes in Architecture to the Natural World

NA2542.35 .F37 1999

 

Radical Simplicity: Small Footprints on a Finite Earth

Wisconsin Center for Environmental Education (4th Floor) BA LS 48

Building Materials and Construction Methods

Alternative Construction: Contemporary Natural Building Methods

TH146 .A48 2000

 

The Art of Natural Building: Design, Construction, Resources

Wisconsin Center for Environmental Education (4th Floor) BA LS 52

 

Building Inside Nature's Envelope: How New Construction and Land Preservation Can Work Together

TH4812 .W36 2000

 

Energy Efficient Building: Architecture, Engineering, and Environment

NA2542.3 .H39 2002

 

Green Building Materials: A Guide to Product Selection and Specification

TH455 .S65 1999

 

Sustainability at the Cutting Edge: Emerging Technologies for Low Energy Buildings

NA2542.3 .S65 2003

Design

Design with Nature

HC110.E5  M33

 

Ecohouse 2: A Design Guide

Wisconsin Center for Environmental Education (4th Floor) BA LS 49
 

Ecological Design

GE170 .V36 1996

 

Green by Design: Creating a Home for Sustainable Living

Wisconsin Center for Environmental Education (4th Floor) BA LS 50
 

Planning and Design Strategies for Sustainability and Profit: Pragmatic Sustainable Design on Building and Urban Scales

NA2542.36 .P578 2004

 

Your Natural Home: A Complete Sourcebook and Design Manual for Creating a Healthy, Beautiful, Environmentally Sensitive House

TH4812 .M2367 1995

Guides and Handbooks

Ecological Design Handbook: Sustainable Strategies for Architecture, Landscape Architecture, Interior Design, and Planning

NA2542.35 .E26 1999

 

Green Architecture

NA682.O73 W56 2000

 

Green Development: Integrating Ecology and Real Estate

HD255 .G73 1998

 

The HOK Guidebook to Sustainable Design

NA2542.35 .M445 2000


return to top


 

Online Indexes and Databases

Online indexes and databases contain citations and/or full text articles that allow you to conduct current, and sometimes historical, research on your topic. Access the indexes listed below through ReSearchPoint.  You can browse a list of indexes or search for a specific index with Find Resources.  You could also use the Custom Search function and select indexes and perform a simultaneous search.  Try the Arts or Natural Resources categories.

 


ACCESS NOTE: Off-campus access to most online indexes and databases is available to UWSP students and staff through Virtual Private Network (VPN). Click here for instructions. 


Academic Search Elite

This multi-disciplinary database offers full-text to many of it 2,000+ scholarly/general journals/magazines; 1,500 of these are peer-reviewed. Covers almost every area of academic study.

 

Applied Science and Technology Full Text
Full-text database that covers, among other subjects, construction engineering, engineering materials, and environmental engineering.

 

Art Full Text
Citation database that indexes, abstracts, and provides full-text articles from more than 313 periodicals published throughout the world.

 

Arts and Humanities Citation Index
Indexes 1,144 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals. Subjects covered include architecture, art, and history.

 

Biological Abstracts
Includes citations with abstracts derived from life sciences research journals published worldwide. Subjects covered include ecology and the environment.

 

OmniFile Full Text

Complete content - indexing, abstracts, and full text - from six of Wilson's full-text databases: Education, General Science, Humanities, Readers' Guide, Social Sciences, Wilson Business. 


return to top


 

Print Periodicals
Find the journals and magazines listed below in the Current Periodicals collection on the library's second floor. Use the Journal titles A-Z search feature or browse the list of journals in ReSearchPoint to find out more about the publications (issues available, location, format). 

Use an index if you want to conduct in-depth research using these print periodicals. If the library provides access to an online index that includes the periodicals listed below, you will find a link to that online index under the periodical title. 


ACCESS NOTE: Off-campus access to most online indexes and databases is available to UWSP students and staff through Virtual Private Network (VPN). Click here for instructions. 


Architectural Record
Indexed by Academic Search Elite

 

Dwell
Not indexed online

 

Ecology

Indexed by JSTOR (most recent 4 years not available)

 

Environmental Building News
Not indexed online


return to top


Online Periodicals
Listed below are online periodicals that are available in full text through the library's indexes and databases or freely available on the Web. Click on the Journal title to browse online issues of the journal.


ACCESS NOTE: Off-campus access to most online indexes and databases is available to UWSP students and staff through Virtual Private Network (VPN). Click here for instructions. 


Ecology and Society
Indexed by DOAJ, Directory of Open Access Journals

 

Electronic Green Journal

Indexed by DOAJ, Directory of Open Access Journals

 

International Journal of Sustainability in Higher Education
Indexed by Emerald

 

Management of Environmental Quality

Indexed by ABI/INFORM Global

The following periodicals are freely available on the Web:

Architectural Record - Green Architect

Ecotecture: The Online Journal of Ecological Design

Environmental Design and Construction

Journal of Sustainable Product Design (back issues)

New Village: Building Sustainable Cultures


return to top


 

Web Resources
Check the sites below for information from governmental and educational sources as well as the private sector.

Department of Energy Sustainable Design Program: Links

http://www.pnl.gov/doesustainabledesign/links/

From the U.S. Department of Energy's Sustainable Design Program. List of external sites that contain sustainable design concepts.

 

Green Design Initiative

http://gdi.ce.cmu.edu/

From the site: "The Green Design Institute is a major interdisciplinary research effort to make an impact on environmental quality through green design."

 

The Hannover Principles: Design for Sustainability

http://www.mcdonough.com/principles.pdf

Prepared by William McDonough Architects for Expo 2000 at the 1992 World's Fair in Hannover, Germany, The Hannover Principles: Design for Sustainability is one of the first documents to comprehensively address the fundamental ideas of sustainability and the built environment.

 

Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design

http://usgbc.org/leed/leed_main.asp
From the site: "The LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) Green Building Rating System® is a voluntary, consensus-based national standard for developing high-performance, sustainable buildings."

 

Oikos Green Building Source

http://oikos.com/green_products/index.php

From the site: "Oikos is a World Wide Web site devoted to serving professionals whose work promotes sustainable design and construction."

 

Smart Communities Network

http://www.sustainable.doe.gov

From the U.S. Department of Energy. Provides information on topics such as green buildings, green development, and resource efficiency.

 

Sustainability News

http://nature.nps.gov/SustainabilityNews/

Full-text access to the National Park Service's online magazine Sustainability News.

 

U.S. Green Building Council

http://www.usgbc.org/

From the site: "The Council is the nation's foremost coalition of leaders from across the building industry working to promote buildings that are environmentally responsible, profitable and healthy places to live and work."


return to top


 

© 2004 University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point University Library
900 Reserve Street | Stevens Point, WI 54481
715·346·3038 (administration) | 715·346·2540 (circulation) | 715·346·2836 (reference)

This page last modified: Sunday, January 06, 2008