University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point University Library
University Library, UW-Stevens Point
Library Home | About Us | Hours | Directory | Library News | Visitors & Maps | Site Index | Help


Resource Guide: Mathematics

Reference and Background Information    |     Online Indexes and Databases    |    Print Periodicals      Online Periodicals  | Web Resources   |   Professional Organizations

Reference and Background Information
Refer to these background information sources found in the library's Reference Room or Stacks collections when you are just starting to research a topic. Click on the title to see the catalog record for the item.

CRC Concise Encyclopedia of Mathematics

Reference Room QA5 .W45 1999


The Cambridge Dictionary of Statistics

Reference Room QA276.14 .E84 2002

 

Standard Mathematical Tables and Formulae

Reference Room QA47 .S695 2003

 

Dictionary of Mathematics

Reference Room QA5 .D52 1999

 

Encyclopedia of Mathematics Education

Reference Room QA11 .E665 2001

 

Notable Mathematicians: From Ancient Times to the Present

Reference Room QA28 .N66 1998

 

Use of Mathematical Literature

Stacks QA41.7 .U83


return to top


 

Online Indexes and Databases

Find mathematics-related articles and other information in online indexes and databases listed below.  Use ReSearchPoint and perform a CustomSearch in the Mathematics & Technology category to simultaneously search multiple mathematics indexes.

 


ACCESS NOTE: Off-campus access to most online indexes and databases is available to UWSP students and staff through Virtual Private Network (VPN). Click here for instructions. 


Academic Search Elite

This multi-disciplinary database offers full-text to many of it 2,000+ scholarly/general journals/magazines; 1,500 of these are peer-reviewed. Covers almost every area of academic study.

 

JSTOR
Provides electronic access to back issues of important mathematics and statistics journals. Note that JSTOR does not provide access to the most recent 3-5 years of issues published.

MathSciNet
From the American Mathematical Society, MathSciNet is the online equivalent to Mathematical Reviews. Indexes and reviews books, periodical articles, and conference proceedings.

OmniFile Full Text

Complete content - indexing, abstracts, and full text - from six of Wilson's full-text databases: Education, General Science, Humanities, Readers' Guide, Social Sciences, Wilson Business.

 


return to top


 

Print Periodicals
Find the journals and magazines listed below in the Current Periodicals collection on the library's second floor. Use the Find Journal function in ReSearchPoint to browse or search a list of journals available in print on online and to find out more about the publications (issues available, location, format).

Use an index if you want to conduct in-depth research using these print periodicals. If the library provides access to an online index that includes the periodicals listed below, you will find a link to that online index under the periodical title. Use ReSearchPoint and perform a CustomSearch in the Mathematics & Technology category to simultaneously search multiple mathematics indexes.


ACCESS NOTE: Off-campus access to most online indexes and databases is available to UWSP students and staff through Virtual Private Network (VPN). Click here for instructions. 


 

Journal for Research in Mathematics Education
Indexed by OmniFile Full Text


Mathematical Intelligencer

Indexed by Academic Search Elite


Mathematics Magazine
Indexed by
JSTOR (most recent 5 years not available)


Mathematics Teacher
Indexed by OmniFile Full Text


Mathematics Teaching in the Middle School
Indexed by OmniFile Full Text

 


return to top


 

Online Periodicals
Listed below are online periodicals covering mathematics and statistics that are available in full text through the library's indexes and databases. Click on the periodical title to browse the available issues.

 


ACCESS NOTE: Off-campus access to most online indexes and databases is available to UWSP students and staff through Virtual Private Network (VPN). Click here for instructions. 


American Journal of Mathematics

Indexed by Project MUSE

 

American Statistician

Indexed by Academic Search Elite

 

Annals of the Institute of Statistical Mathematics

Indexed by ABI/INFORM Global

 

Annals of Mathematics

Indexed by DOAJ, Directory of Open Access Journals

 

Bulletin of the American Mathematical Society

Indexed by OmniFile Full Text

 

Electronic Journal of Differential Equations

Indexed by DOAJ, Directory of Open Access Journals

 

Electronic Journal of Probability

Indexed by DOAJ, Directory of Open Access Journals

 

Electronic Research Announcements of the American Mathematical Society

Indexed by DOAJ, Directory of Open Access Journals

 

Journal of Statistics Education

Indexed by DOAJ, Directory of Open Access Journals

 

Probability Surveys

Indexed by Project Euclid

 

SIAM Review

Indexed by Academic Search Elite

 

The UMAP Journal

Indexed by Education Full Text


return to top


 

Web Resources
Check the sites below for information from educational and governmental sources as well as the private sector.

arXiv (http://arxiv.org)
An e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, and quantitative biology partially funded by the National Science Foundation. 

Cornell University Historical Math Collection (http://historical.library.cornell.edu/math)
A collection of selected monographs with expired copyrights chosen from the mathematics field.

Directory of Mathematics Preprint and e-Print Servers (http://www.ams.org/global-preprints/index.html)
Provides links to mathematical preprint and e-print servers throughout the world.

Electronic Research Archive for Mathematics (http://www.emis.de/MATH/JFM/JFM.html)
A digital library for classical mathematics that consists of a complete electronic catalogue of the mathematical publications in the time period between 1868-1942 and a digital archive storing the most relevant publications from that period. 

European Libraries and Electronic Resources (EULER) Project in Mathematical Sciences    (http://www.emis.de/projects/EULER)
An abstracting database with a wide variety of mathematical resources, such as books, preprints, Web pages, abstracts, proceedings, serials, technical reports, and theses. 

History of Mathematics (http://turnbull.mcs.st-and.ac.uk/~history)
This site includes essays on the history of math, and a very large collection of historical biographies.

Math Archives (http://archives.math.utk.edu)
Provides a wide range of links to software, teaching materials, and topics in mathematics, together with a searchable database.

The Math Forum@Drexel (http://mathforum.org/)
An online math education resource. Includes archives of answers to math questions, Problems of the Week for students in grades 3-12, interactive challenges for middle and high school students, and extensive lists of links to math-related resources on the Web. An Internet newsletter and discussion groups are also available through the site.

Math on the Web (http://www.ams.org/mathweb/mi-mathinfo03.html)
Find links to a wide range of mathematical resources, including Guides to Mathematical Literature, Mathematical Literature on the Web, Sources for Literature Not on the Web, Mathematics by Points of View, Mathematics People, Reference Literature, and Mathematics Web Servers.

Mathematics Help Central (http://www.mathematicshelpcentral.com)
This site offers a number of resources, mainly intended for college-level mathematics students. The bulk of the site's material is contained in the Lecture Notes section. Seven complete sets of notes from math professors are presented, with emphases on courses in college algebra, pre-calculus algebra and trigonometry, and calculus, among others. Ready-to-print graph paper can be downloaded in a variety of grid sizes and layouts. A section of lecture notes on discrete mathematics is also given.

MathWorld (http://mathworld.wolfram.com)
A comprehensive and interactive mathematics encyclopedia assembled by Eric W. Weisstein and intended for students, educators, math enthusiasts, and researchers.

University of Michigan Historical Mathematics Collection (http://www.hti.umich.edu/u/umhistmath)
Online library of books selected from the University of Michigan mathematics collection that have been digitized to improve access and to preserve the content of these books. All of the books in this collection were published in the 19th or early 20th century.


return to top


 

Professional Organizations
Check these sites of professional organizations and associations specializing in mathematics. Some organizations provide links to informative Web sites or provide white papers and other documents of interest to the researcher.


return to top


 

 

© 2004 University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point University Library
900 Reserve Street | Stevens Point, WI 54481
715·346·3038 (administration) | 715·346·2540 (circulation) | 715·346·2836 (reference)

This page last modified: Sunday, January 06, 2008