University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point University Library
University Library, UW-Stevens Point
Library Home | About Us | Hours | Directory | Library News | Visitors & Maps | Site Index | Help

Find Poetry
 

Finding Poems and Poets    |    Subject Headings

 Reference Materials    |    Books in the Stacks 

Print Periodicals    |    Online Databases & Web sites


    

Finding Poems and Poets
Use The Columbia Granger's Index to Poetry (Ref PN1022 .H39 1994b) to start your search. Here you will find:
 

  • Title, First Line, and Last Line Index

  • Author Index (includes pseudonyms; lists poems written by the author)

  • Subject Index (find the titles of poems and anthologies organized by subject)


return to top


Subject Headings
Use these poetry-related subject headings to refine your searches in the library catalog. Click on the links to go to the library catalog and conduct a search within these subject headings. 

American poetry--20th century
American poetry--History and criticism
English poetry
English poetry--20th century
English poetry--History and criticism

English poetry--Irish authors
Poetry--Collections
Poetry, Modern 20th century
Poetry, Modern 20th century History and criticism

(Author’s last name, first initial)--Criticism and interpretation


return to top


Reference Materials
Listed below are poetry reference materials that can be found in the library’s Reference Room. Click on the title to see the catalog record for the item.  

The Classic Hundred Poems: All-Time Favorites
Ref PR1175 .C55 1998

The Columbia Granger's Index to Poetry
Ref PN1022 .H39 1994b

The Columbia Granger's Index to Poetry in Anthologies
Ref PN1022 .H39 2002

Contemporary Poets
Ref PN1021 .C66 2001

Critical Survey of Poetry
Ref PN1021 .C7 2003

Guide to American Poetry Explication
Ref PS303 .G95 1989

Masterplots II: Poetry Series
Ref PN1110.5 .M37 1992

The Oxford Companion to Twentieth-Century Poetry in English
Ref PR601 .O9 1994

Poetry Criticism: Excerpts from Criticism of the Works of the Most Significant and Widely Studied Poets of World Literature
Ref PN1010 .P62


return to top


Books in the Stacks
Go to the Stacks on the 4th floor and browse the shelves to locate books in these call number ranges:

PN1110 - PN1279  

Poetry, History and Criticism

PN6099 - PN6110

General Poetry Collections

PR500 - PR614 

English Poetry by Period

PR1170 - PR1228

Collections of English Poetry

PS301 - PS326         

American Poetry

PS580 - PS619             

Collections of American Poetry

PS593

Collections of American Poetry by Form

PS601 - PS617

Collections of American Poetry by Period

 


return to top


Print Periodicals
Go to the Current Periodicals collection on the 2nd floor and browse the following print periodicals for poems and reviews. Click on the title to see the catalog record for the item.  

American Poetry Review

Beloit Poetry Journal

Explicator

Georgia Review

Kenyon Review

North American Review

PMLA

Poetry (do a Journal/Magazine/Newspaper Title search in the catalog)

Poets & Writers

Virginia Quarterly Review


return to top


Online Databases
Check the following online databases for journal articles about poets, poems, and poetry:

Academic Search Elite
Multi-disciplinary database offers full text to many of it 2,000+ scholarly/general journals/magazines; 1,500 of these are peer-reviewed. Full-text coverage dates back as far as 1985.

 

Humanities Full Text
Full text plus abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines.

 

JSTOR
Provides electronic access to back issues of core journals in the humanities. Please note that you will not have access to the most recent 3-5 years of issues.

 

Virtual Reference Desk (Websites)
You can also check the sites listed under the Poetry section of the Virtual Reference Desk (click link above).


return to top


 

© 2004 University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point University Library
900 Reserve Street | Stevens Point, WI 54481
715·346·3038 (administration) | 715·346·2540 (circulation) | 715·346·2836 (reference)

This page last modified: Friday, September 04, 2009