Pro-Con Information Sources
Reference Sources
CQ Researcher (print version)
H35 .E35 (1991-)
Congressional Digest
H35.E36 (Ref, older issues in
Stacks)
Encyclopedia of Applied Ethics
BJ 63 E 44 1998 (Ref)
Encyclopedia of Bioethics
QH332 .E52 2004 (Ref)
Encyclopedia of Ethics
BJ63 .E45 2001 (Ref)
Greenwood Encyclopedia of
Women's Issues Worldwide
HQ1115 .G74 2003 (Ref)
Books
The
library buys books from several useful pro-con series. These books provide
an overview of both sides of a controversial topic. Some of the most
important series are:
|
Current Controversies |
Opposing Viewpoints |
Contemporary World
Issues
Taking Sides
Search Tips:
To find these pro-con books on your topic,
use a keyword search in the
Library Catalog for your topic and one of
the series names listed above.
Examples: |
"gun control" and "contemporary issues"
|
or
|
"environment" and "opposing viewpoints"
Newspaper Databases
Editorials written in newspapers are a rich source of opinions on
controversial topics. Try these online newspaper indexes. To
access the newspaper indexes, try the "Article QuickSearch" from the
Library Homepage and choose the
Newspaper option:
The following indexes are restricted to the UWSP community:
Search Tips:
Search for articles using terms describing your issue AND the term
editorial, to find editorials.
Examples: "global warming" and
"editorial" or "violence and music" and "editorial"
Magazine and Journal Article Databases
Magazines and Journals are an
excellent source of information on controversial topics.
Consult the
"Find Article Databases" link from the
Library Homepage to search the magazine/journal indexes listed
below.
Both indexes have some articles available in full text and some citation
only sources.
-
EbscoHost: Academic Search Elite and
Masterfile Premier
-
OmniFile Full Text from Wilson
You might also check the "Article databases by subject" on the
Library Homepage for subjects that
are related to your topic. For example,
the Business & Economics category for "white collar crime" or
Education for "school violence".
Search Tips:
Search for articles using terms describing your issue AND any of the
following keywords, or other similar keywords designed to pinpoint articles
taking a stand on an issue.
- oppose or support
- proponent or opponent
Online Sources
CQ Researcher ONLINE
(1991 - ) (Restricted
to UWSP
access only)
- Find CQ Researcher in the list of ALL Indexes.
- Includes a discussion of the basic issues, background and chronology of
relevant events related to a particular issues, including the current situation
and a future outlook. Each topic is also addressed in a PRO and CON section. Graphs,
charts and statistics are often included, as well as a bibliography. The
CQ Researcher Reports are also available in the Reference Area in print
format at call number: H35 .E35 (1991-)
- Examples of topics: Media bias, environmental priorities,
cloning, women and human rights, energy politics, dietary supplements,
embryo research, gangs, hazing, etc.. 52 issues each year!
Gallup Poll Online
- Statistical sampling of American public opinion on a variety of general
topics and specific issues.
- Examples of topics: elections, Supreme Court, environment, healthcare,
smoking in restaurants, local police, belief in ghosts, and
Hot Paper Topics:
Best Information on the Net
- From O'Keefe Library
at St. Ambrose University
- An annotated subject
directory on a variety of controversial topics including global warming,
same sex marriage, bioethical issues, capital punishment, etc.
Librarian’s Index to the
Internet
: Social Issues
- LII is a
searchable, annotated subject directory of more than 14,000
Internet resources selected and evaluated by librarians for their
usefulness and
reliability.
- The Social Issues
section leads to a listing of websites on a variety of controversial
topics.
Multnomah
County Library Homework Center: Social Issues
- An annotated directory of hundreds of Internet sites
dealing with over three dozen controversial social issues.
- Examples of topics: Abortion, AIDS, Creationism, Environmental Protection,
Flag Burning, Genetic Engineering, Global Warming, Gun Control, Homelessness,
Prayer in Schools, Sweatshops, and Welfare Reform.
- Subject directories are sometimes further broken down into megasites, pro
and con sites, legislation, Supreme Court decisions and other pertinent
headings.