University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point University Library
University Library, UW-Stevens Point
Library Home | About Us | Hours | Directory | Library News | Visitors & Maps | Site Index | Help


Articles on Physics/Science Topics:

A Selective List of Magazines and Journals  

(all on the 2nd floor of the Library; most of them are kept in the “current periodicals” and “bound periodicals” sections; current newspapers are kept in a separate “newspaper section”; back issues of the New York Times and news magazines are archived on microfilm; some are also available online.) 

For a general audience:

  • Magazines, such as Newsweek, Time, and U.S. News & World Report
  • Newspapers, esp. weekly science sections (e.g., the New York Time’s Tuesday Science Section)

Special subject magazines for amateurs/hobbyists: 

  • American Scientist
  • Astronomy
  • The Futurist
  • New Scientist
  • Popular Science
  • Scientific America
  • Sky & Telescope

Science journals for the sophisticated amateur as well as professional scientists: 

  • Nature
  • Physics Today
  • Science
  • Science News

Highly technical and specialized research-oriented journals, such as: 

  • American Journal of Physics
  • Applied Physics Letters
  • Astrophysical Journal
  • Journal of Applied Meteorology
  • Journal of Polymer Science (Polymer Physics)
  • Journal of Experimental Botany
  • Journal of Immunology

Reference Resources  (selected resources) 

(for General Science/Physics go to the far left corner in the Reference Room, Library, 1st floor for the call number range Q 121 … thru QC 5 …)  

For a general audience: 

  • Encyclopedia Britannica (AE 5 .E 363 2003; past reference desk, then turn left)

For the sophisticated amateur as well as professional scientists: 

  • Van Nostrand’s Scientific Encyclopedia  (Q 121 .V36 2002)
  • Encyclopedia of Physical Science and Technology (Q 123 .E497 2002)
  • McGraw’s Encyclopedia of Science and Technology (Q 121 .M3 1997; also online)

Highly technical and specialized: 

  • Macmillan Encyclopedia of Physics  (QC 5 .M15 1996)
  • Encyclopaedic Dictionary of Physics (QC 5 .E52)
  • Encyclopedia of Astronomy and Astrophysics (QB 14 .E534 2001)

Books  

Search the Library Catalog

  • enter key words or established phrases (not the whole topic or question)
  • use quotes to search phrases, e.g. black holes
  • use and to narrow down your search, e.g. “black holes” and gravitation
  • use ? to truncate. E.g., typing electromagnet? looks for electromagnetic or electromagnetism.
  • If no books found, check spelling or consider using “Universal Borrowing.”

Indexes and Databases - a few general indexes are listed below.  To find additional resources use the ReSearchPoint Custom Search option and select the Physics category.

Best option: Wilson Web

Library homepage then select "Find article databases" and type in the following indexes in the search field box. Once the system has found the index, click on the hyperlink for access.

  • General Science Full Text
  • Applied Science Full Text
  • OmniFile Full Text

Back-up option: Ebscohost

Follow the same path as above, but type in the following index names to search the native interface.

  • Academic Search
  • MasterFile
     
© 2004 University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point University Library
900 Reserve Street | Stevens Point, WI 54481
715·346·3038 (administration) | 715·346·2540 (circulation) | 715·346·2836 (reference)

This page last modified: Sunday, January 06, 2008