University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point University Library
University Library, UW-Stevens Point
Library Home | About Us | Hours | Directory | Library News | Visitors & Maps | Site Index | Help


Looking for an article?

When you research a topic, you find articles using databases.  

Where do I find the databases? 

  • From the Library homepage

  • Go to the Article Databases Section

  • There are a number of ways to look for articles through Research Point:

    • Use the Article QuickSearch option for simultaneous searching of popular databases.

    • Use the Article Databases by Subject option to choose databases within a subject.

    • Go to Find Article Databases to search for a specific resource.

    • Go to Browse Databases A-Z for an alphabetical list of resources.

How do I choose the best database for my topic? 

First, you need to ask yourself:

  • What level of information do you need? Broad general coverage or in-depth research?

  • What type of publications? Newspapers, magazines, trade publications, scholarly journals, conferences?

  • If you are unsure where to start, try our General/Popular in the Article QuickSearch category for an all-purpose search.

 How do I search a database? 

  • Use important keywords or subject headings that describe your topic.

  • Review the results to see what citations are relevant to your topic.

  • If you have too many hits, consider narrowing your topic (i.e., additional keywords or search specific fields).

  • If you have too few hits, broaden your topic or consider alternate keywords.  

How do I get the article? 

  • You are likely to find the full-text of an article in most databases.
  • If not, click on the    button to see if it links to full-text.

 provides direct links to electronic full-text of an article (when available). 

Still need help? AskUs!  

 

© 2004 University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point University Library
900 Reserve Street | Stevens Point, WI 54481
715·346·3038 (administration) | 715·346·2540 (circulation) | 715·346·2836 (reference)

This page last modified: Friday, September 04, 2009