The Archives provides preservation and access to over 200 video games and over 40 systems ranging from the 1970s to present for on-site use. The Historic Video Game Collection supports research in a wide range of academic programs interested in pop culture and entertainment representations of history, gender, violence, culture, art and design, and architecture.
The Historic Video Game Collection may be used in independent research, archival instruction, outreach, by faculty for consideration of course integration, or for on-site recreational use. Due to the fragile physical nature and monetary and historic value of the collection, games and systems are non-circulating and are located in closed stacks. Anyone interested in using materials from the collection should contact Archives staff at archives@uwsp.edu to arrange a time for on-site use.
The finding aid for the Historic Video Game Collection includes information on the Mission, History, Scope, and development of the collection. It also includes a comprehensive list of the systems and games in the collection. The contents list is continually updated as new materials are added to the collection.
The Archives will actively collect consoles, games, controllers, accessories, publications, and ephemera that were released for home use between 1970 to the present. Emphasis is placed on acquiring consoles and games in their original, unmodified, officially licensed version.
If you are interested in making a donation to the Historic Video Game Collection, please contact the Archives at archives@uwsp.edu.
To recommend a game or system for the collection, fill out the Collection Recommendation Form. If the game or system is a good fit for the collection, we will consider buying it to add to the collection.